Trauma Overview

Remember to follow along in your workbook to get the most out of this course!

Learning objectives

By the end of this module, you should be able to...

  • Identify the steps in the systematic approach to the trauma patient 
  • Define the Glasgow Coma Scale and understand how to utilize the scale 
  • Identify the key aspects of the revised trauma score 
  • Understand the steps in the National Trauma Triage Protocol. 
  • List the different trauma designations and understand how each is defined. 
  • Recognize examples of significant mechanisms of injury

High Yield Content

  • The systematic approach allows for early identification of the most life threatening issues first
  • The GCS assesses eyes, verbal and motor with maximum score in each category of 4, 5 and 6
  • The lowest GCS score is 3 and the highest is 14
  • The revised trauma score is one scoring system that assesses GCS, Systolic BP and Ventilatory rate to predict trauma severity 
  • The revised trauma score is most heavily weighted on GCS and should be calculated during initial assessment 
  • The National Trauma Triage Protocol assesses Vital Signs, Injuries, MOI and special considerations to determine where in a trauma system a patient should be transferred
  • Trauma designations range from Level 5 to Level 1 with Level 1 trauma centers having the most robust resources to assess and manage traumatic patients.